Driers are faced with many decisions. They not only need to decide their route, they also need to determine how they will act in certain conditions. While motorists are required to follow the rules of the road, many decide to travel faster than the posted speed limit. In other cases, a driver may fail to signal a turn or lane change. And in some instances, a driver may use their cellphone while they are driving.
The state of California will soon celebrate 10 years of having no texting and driving law and hands-free cell phone law. Because the state was concerned with the number of collisions occurring on the roadway, finding that cellphone use was causing these numbers to increase, the state decided it was best to implement these laws.
In its first full year of enactment, the California Highway Patrol issued 148,000 citations and reported that more than 33,000 car accidents occurred because of distracted driving in 2009. On a more positive note, data from 2017 shows that citations for these violations dropped to 97,000 and collisions involving distracted drivers decreased to 22,000. While there is a decline in citations and collisions, accidents still occur because of cell phone use.
Who is most prone to text and drive in California? Current data suggests that those 30-years-old and younger are the most likely to use a cell phone while driving. The most concerning aspect of this group of drivers is that it includes teen drivers. Everyday, teens are involved in preventable accidents. Whether it is their decision to text while drive or another motorist’s, a car accident could leave a victim seriously injured and impacted.
Following a car accident, it is important to understand what caused it. If a negligent driver is to blame, it is possible to hold that driver accountable. A personal injury action not only helps assign responsibility but can also help with the collection of compensation for losses and damages.